Shreya Kumar to receive 2024 ND Women in Engineering Impact Award

Shreya Kumar

Shreya Kumar, assistant teaching professor of computer science and engineering, has been named the recipient of the 2024 Catherine F. Pieronek Women in Engineering Impact Award.

The annual award honors a faculty or staff member in the Notre Dame College of Engineering “who has made a dramatic positive impact on women’s engineering experience” through teaching and mentoring; service and support; and advocacy for women in engineering.

Award recipients are selected based on feedback from women graduate and undergraduate students in engineering.

One student said Kumar “is not only a great professor, she also makes an impact on students’ lives outside of the classroom. She greatly improved my experience as a woman in engineering.”

Kumar’s class, CSE Service Projects, which focuses on technology-based solutions for nonprofits, was frequently described as “inspirational.” Another student wrote: “Her teaching and mentorship inspired me to be involved in engineering for the greater good.”

Several students pointed to Kumar’s leadership in engaging students in the annual Grace Hopper Celebration of Women in Computing, a series of conferences focused on women’s research and career interests.

Kumar also is the director of E-SURE, which each summer offers research experiences for undergraduate students.

“Inclusive” and “supportive” were words frequently used to describe Kumar’s teaching and mentorship: “She made my future in engineering seem far less daunting.”

The award, typically presented at a Notre Dame women’s basketball game, honors the memory of Catherine F. Pieronek, associate dean for academic affairs, who served as the founding director of Women in Engineering.

Shreya Kumar teaching in a classroom
Shreya Kumar teaches in front of a full classroom

The award presentation will take place at the University of Louisville versus Notre Dame women’s basketball game on Sunday, March 3, 2024.

Previous Women in Engineering Impact Award recipients:

2023 — Tijana Milenkovic, Computer Science and Engineering
2022 — Ramzi Bualuan, Computer Science and Engineering
2021 — Jennifer Schaefer, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
2020 — Liz Kerr, Civil and Environmental Engineering and Earth Sciences
2019 — Pinar Zorlutuna, Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering
2018 — Ashley Thrall, Civil and Environmental Engineering and Earth Sciences
2017 — Victoria Goodrich, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

— Karla Cruise, Notre Dame Engineering