Tijana Milenkovic to receive 2023 ND Women in Engineering Impact Award

Tijana Milenkovic

Tijana Milenkovic, professor of computer science and Frank M. Freimann Collegiate Professor of Engineering, has been named the recipient of the 2023 Catherine F. Pieronek Women in Engineering Impact Award.

The annual award honors a faculty or staff member in the Notre Dame College of Engineering “who has made a dramatic positive impact on women’s engineering experience” through teaching and mentoring; service and support; and advocacy for women in engineering.

Award recipients are selected based on feedback from women graduate and undergraduate students in engineering.

Students commented that Milenkovic, “has always been a strong advocate not only for women in engineering, but for women of all backgrounds and identities.”

They cited her dedication to making Notre Dame an inclusive place. Several said that she was an inspirational role model. 

Others noted that Milenkovic “reminds us that any biases against us as women do not reflect our abilities. She also encourages us to reflect on our own personal biases to ensure that we are contributing to a more positive culture for all.”

Two students sitting down and one standing up all look at a tv screen as a Prof. Milenkovic explains what is being displayed.

The award, typically presented at a Notre Dame women’s basketball game, honors the memory of Catherine F. Pieronek, associate dean for academic affairs, who pioneered and was Notre Dame’s first director of Women in Engineering.

The award presentation will take place at the University of Virginia versus Notre Dame game on Sunday, Jan. 22, 2023.

Previous Women in Engineering Impact Award recipients:

2022 — Ramzi Bualuan, Computer Science and Engineering
2021 — Jennifer Schaefer, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
2020 — Liz Kerr, Civil and Environmental Engineering and Earth Sciences
2019 — Pinar Zorlutuna, Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering
2018 — Ashley Thrall, Civil and Environmental Engineering and Earth Sciences
2017 — Victoria Goodrich, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

— Karla Cruise, Notre Dame College of Engineering